Children of Courage

posted in: Projects

What are the Lions Children of Courage Awards?

The Children of Courage awards recognise a very special group of children and their families who may other-wise be overlooked by other ‘achievement’ awards.
These awards are especially designed to recognise the courage and bravery shown by these children every day in their day-to-day lives.
The Children of Courage Awards are not a competition! Every nominee for an award is a “winner”. The Award has been developed to:
• Encourage perseverance
• Promote self worth
• Acknowledge resilience
These awards provide an opportunity to recognise children who have successfully overcome additional barriers which face them in this world.


There are three (3) categories for which a child may be nominated …
1) Special Needs
Children with special needs who have shown courage in the face of adversity. Such children include those who suffer from chronic illness which has perhaps brought pain and trauma to their young lives.
2) Courageous Act or Deed
A child who without regard for personal safety, has been instrumental in the preservation of life and/or property, or has rendered assistance at an accident, or whose concerns for others is worthy of recognition.
3) Inspiring Sporting Achievement
For children who have overcome great personal hardship/disadvantage to compete as an individual or team member in their chosen sport.

Nominate a deserving child NOW!!


Complete the nomination form and email to:
Mail to: Denis Griffiths
3 William Street
Yarrawonga VIC 3730